Mountain View Criminal and DUI Lawyers
Protecting Your Rights – DUI Defense & Criminal Law
When you are accused of a crime, make no mistake, the full weight of the criminal justice system is against you. Do not talk to the authorities; do retain a criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. You need the best lawyer available who has the experience and understanding to get you the best possible results. We not only understand the system, but have the experience needed to level the playing field and deliver results.
Whether you or your juvenile child is charged with a driving under the influence (DUI), assault, battery, vehicular manslaughter, drug charge, domestic violence, or another offense, we are the defense attorneys you want on your side.
Your attorney can defend your rights, negotiate to get your charges reduced, question the prosecution’s evidence and present alternative evidence, cross-examine witnesses and present defense witnesses. When you talk to your attorney, it is important to ask about the attorney’s trial experience. Whether you are charged with a misdemeanor or felony, you deserve the strongest defense available.
Call now for help if you have been accused or charged with any of the following crimes.
Areas of Practice
- DUI/DWI – Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol
- Assault and Battery
- Domestic Violence
- Assault with a Deadly Weapon
- Narcotics/Drugs/Controlled Substances
- White Collar Crimes
- Felonies and Misdemeanors
If you or someone you know in Mountain View area needs the trusted legal advice and skilled representation of an experienced criminal defense attorney, call the Peninsula Law Group today at 650-903-2200.
DUI/DWI – Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol
Driving under the influence or driving while intoxicated due to alcohol or drug use is a crime. When you are arrested for a DUI or DWI you will be facing serious criminal penalties. There are many ways to fight DUI or DWI charges and your attorney can outline for you your defense options. Your defense may include challenging the officer’s account of your driving, your behavior and your arrest the accuracy of the Breathalyzer tests.
Our firm handles all aspects of a driving under the influence charge. We handle not only the District Attorney’s Office and Police, but also the California DMV. You have only 10 days from the date of your arrest to protect your driving privileges! The police and the DMV typically will not fully advise you of the 10 day rule to protect your driving privileges. We take your freedom seriously, but fighting to keep your driving privileges is important as well. We cannot promise results, of course, but we have extensive experience in this area of law and will represent you with zealous effectiveness.
The State of California has defined penalties for refusing to submit to a blood test, breath tests, urine tests or any other test(s) requested by the officer. Refusal to submit to tests when you have been stopped for a suspected DUI or DWI automatically results in loss of your license. We help you appeal suspension or license revocation. These must be started immediately after your arrest.
Clients ask “I took the test offered by the officer. Am I okay?” Even if you took the blood test, breath test, or urine test requested by a police officer, you MAY be facing license suspension or license revocation if your breath, blood or urine test result exceeded California’s prohibited level.
Contact Peninsula Law Group today for capable and experienced legal counsel to assure that your rights and your driver’s license are protected to the full extent the law allows.
Assault and Battery
Assault and Battery are two separate crimes. Generally, an assault occurs when a person attempts to cause a person harm through the use of violence whereas a battery occurs when there is actual use of force or violence against another person. Battery requires contact with the alleged victim, and assault is more like an attempted battery and no contact is required. The Peninsula Law Group’s attorneys take the time to listen to your version of what occurred, explain the law, your options and help prepare your defense.
Assault with a Deadly Weapon
Assault with a deadly weapon is as serious of a crime as it sounds. Most people think of guns when they hear assault with a deadly weapon, but the reality is that almost anything hard or sharp can become a deadly weapon such as a knife or any other object capable of puncturing or fatally injuring a person, a beer bottle, a car, or anything hard or sharp.
A common misconception is that you have to actually use a deadly weapon on someone to be charged. The crime of assault with a deadly weapon does not require physical contact with another person. Just hold the weapon or object in a threatening manner or pointing it at a person could still cause charges to be brought against you. The California Criminal Justice System takes these types of cases very seriously and it prosecutes violent crimes to the full extent of the law with the intent of incarcerating the offender for as long as possible. The team at The Peninsula Law Group devotes all of its resources to your defense.
In the State of California, when the authorities become aware of a domestic violence incident, the law requires them to investigate the alleged domestic violence acts and the state may choose to prosecute an alleged attacker whether or not the abused person wants to file charges. Penalties can range from a rehabilitation or diversion program to jail time. Don’t take these charges lightly. California laws favor the right of freedom from abuse. Peninsula Law Group might be able to have all charges dismissed, and removed from your record.
Drug addiction is a serious problem in our society and often leads a person to commit crimes to fund their “habit.” You need an attorney who will help defend you, negotiate with authorities, help find you treatment programs and otherwise assist you to stay out of the prison system. There are different levels of penalties for various drug crimes. Simple possession may charged as a misdemeanor. But possession for sale, trafficking, transporting, money laundering, crossing state lines or conspiracy to do any of these things constitutes a serious felony. You need the best defense available.
White Collar Crimes
White collar crimes are by nature nonviolent and motivated by an attempt to achieve financial gain illegally and can be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony. Crimes defined as white collar can include:
- Credit card fraud,
- Counterfeiting, and
Felonies and Misdemeanors
Crimes are charged in one of two categories: Felonies and misdemeanors. There are also infractions, but those are minor citations that encompass minor traffic violations. Of the two criminal categories, a felony criminal charge is the most serious.
Felonies are the most serious criminal offenses in California and carry serious penalties. Felonies are punishable by time in a state prison and even death.
Misdemeanors are less serious than felony charges, but they are still punishable by jail time of no longer than a year, but only in county and local jails, not in a state prison.
Wobblers are crimes that can be charged as a misdemeanor or as a felony. The prosecutor has the discretion to look at the facts of the case and the defendant’s criminal history and background in order to decide how to charge the crime.
Penalties for white collar crimes can be substantial. Sentencing provisions for white collar crimes and can vary from probation or extended incarceration. If you are being investigated for or charged with a white collar crime or conspiring to commit a white collar crime, you need the best criminal defense lawyer available.